top of page

Ecstatic Yoga Workbook

Ecstatic Yoga loga (7).jpeg

 Immersions Directory

EY Thumb Kriya (1).jpeg
EY Ceremony Immersion (4).jpeg
EY Ethics_Business (2).jpeg
Mindfulness Day 1 (2).jpeg
EY Body Temple Immersion (2).jpeg
Samadhi Immersion Thumb (1).jpeg
EY Asana 1 Immersion Thumbnail (1).jpeg
EY Asana 2 Immersion (3).jpeg

Kriya Philosophy 
Texts Overview Lesson

EY Kriya Sacred Texts Overview.jpeg
Ecstatic Yoga loga (7).jpeg

EY Kriya Philosophy; Sacred Texts Overview


Major Yogic Texts Overview

In review of the yoga sutras, Upannishads, Pradika and Bhagavad Gita we will be offering this philosophy overview with the intention for the wisdom of these texts to assist you in building positive karma and deepening your connection to the Indweller, Atman, True Self, Authentic Soul vibration.

In this lesson we will give an overview on the following:

-Definition of yoga and timeline

-Four paths to yoga

-Yoga Sutras

-8 Fold Path


-Karma & dharma


-Bhagava Gita


Definition of Yoga

To “Yoke” to become one. A direct experience of union. Union of body, mind and Soul. Inclusive connection with others.

Yoga is an ancient lineage beginning over 5,000 years ago in 2,000 BC. Below is a general timeline of the evolution of yoga and its roots.

Vedas- source of yoga (Approx. 2,000 BC)

Upanishads- summary of vedas, 4 paths to yoga (1,000 BC)

Patanjali Yoga Sutras- 8 limbs of yoga (200 BC)

Tantra Yoga- Yoga of techniques (200 AD-1,000 AC)

Hatha Yoga- Yoga of physical effort (1,000 AD-1,700 AD)

Modern Yoga- Yoga of our present times (1893 AD-Present)


Four Paths to Yoga

Jana Yoga- knowledge or intellect. Includes study of sacred texts.

Bhakti Yoga- Devotion, surrender, falling in love, emotional. Includes chanting, loving & devotional acts.

Raja Yoga- Kingly yoga, mastering the mind, includes asana, pranayama, meditation.

Karma Yoga- Selfless service, seva.


Yoga Sutras

One of the most powerful intentions of Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras is quieting the fluctuations of the mind so you can become closer to the Atman, more deeply connected to the Eternal Identity, your Soul Presence, for permanent inner peace and happiness. In the yoga sutras the aim is this permanent peace and happiness. Patanjali gives a promise that if you can still the diversions and thought disturbances of the mind you can attain permanent peace.

The fluctuations of the mind in the sutras are referred to as thought disturbances, distractions, ignorance, forgetfulness of our inner eternal being, losing a sense of what is real, living in the illusion or maya.

It takes into account a duality-based philosophy in order to attain a true sense of oneness.


Dualistic system of Samkhya or Darshan;

Reality/Pudusha- Unchanging, permenant state of our being. The eternal, Authentic Spirit, Pure Consciousness.

Illusion/Maya- Changing nature of the world, appearances, creation.

Shitka of the Mind; Everything going on in the mind

Manas- Thoughts, stored impressions, mental conditioning, ego identity

Buddhi- Pure conscious awareness, alignment with the soul, True Self, Inner Navigator

Ahamkara- Ego, sense of separation from other’s, individuality, identifying with the separate body.

The sutras help us out of duhkha or suffering due to forgetfulness of what we are, being lost in the illusion of feeling separate, and losing connection with our true identity as an eternal soul.

Our egoic mind stuff or Shitka keeps us focused on the illusion, the outer disturbance’s which distract us looking within and allowing stillness of mind. The goal of yoga is to “Yoke” to become one with the inner being, reality, the eternal Self. To make this deep connection with the Self we need to go within. To go within we need to sit in stillness and allow the diversions of the mind, the ripples upon the consciousness to become still and silent so the Divine Self can reflect like a mirror onto our awareness. The intention of all our practices of yoga is to purify the mind, cleanse the consciousness, silence the ego, calm the distractions so we can go within and return to our natural state of pure consciousness.

A lake with white caps and choppy waves cannot reflect the surrounding natural beauty, yet a calm body of water, glass smooth and still is like a perfect mirror reflecting every detail of the natural world surrounding it with great love.

The ultimate goal of  Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras is to still the mind for the soul to reflect in all it’s splendor. To live in alignment with our highest soul truths. Pure integration of mind and body and spirit as one. To transform stress into peace and rise above suffering and into pure conscious awareness, mindful and present, alive, happy and free.


Patanjali Raja Yoga, 8 Limbs of Yoga

The eight limbs of yoga, also called the 8 fold path (Not to be confused with Buddha) is included in the yoga sutras of Patanjali and is also called Ashtanga and a part of raja yoga. It includes a code of conduct offering guidelines to living a meaningful and spiritually fulfilled life. They Include moral and ethical standards and a pathway to enlightenment.


1 Yamas/morality

2 Niymamas/observances

3 Asana/postures

4 Pranayama/breathwork

5 Pratyahara/Withdrawal

6 Dharana/focus

7 Dhyana/meditation

8 Samadhi/union


1. Yamas

The yamas offer five universal principle or ethical standards and guidelines for living a life of integrity.

-Ahimsa; non-Violence

-Satya; truthfulness

-ASteya; non-Stealing

-Brahmacharya; continence

Aparigraha; non-covetousness


2. Niyamas

The niyama’s offer five spiritual observances or disciplines to living a spiritually fulfilled life. They vary from person to person, for example one person may enjoy a discipline of praying before meals while another may enjoy long walks in nature. Discover what aligns with your soul purpose.

-Saucha; Cleanliness of body, mind and soul

-Samtosa; Contentment

-Tapas; heat, spiritual austerities

-Svadhyaya; Study of sacred scriptures and of one’s self

-Isvara pranidhana; Surrender to God

3. Asana, physical body awareness & postures

4. Pranayama, breath practices and awareness

5. Pratyahara, withdrawal of external distraction, awareness on inner sensation

6. Dharana, concentration/focus

7. Dhyana, meditation

8. Samadhi, blissful union with divine



The Vedas are four thousand year old sacred Hindu scriptures that were written in Sanskrit. They are the most ancient Hindu texts that include spiritual philosophy that included hymns and rituals for the priests of the Vedic religion.


The very core of the Vedic teachings we will cover in this lesson are the following:


-Four chief Vedic collections

-Four levels of consciousness/reality

-The Atman






The four chief Vedic c